Place Your Money Here

How to turn a generic, unexciting plexiglass donation box into something that you’d feel guilty NOT putting change or a bill or two in.

donationbox

Can’t rely on puppy faces or kitty poses. It’s all about fresh food for our island.

bananabox

I spend every Saturday volunteering with the VI Farmers Coop at the produce tables, connecting locally grown vegetables and fruits to locally eager shoppers.

I’d never painted on plexiglass before and didn’t know if the paint would adhere. What kind of paint? Some online research pointed to acrylic. No drawing, just fearless brushes, my favorite Sta- Wet Palette and artistic latitude with fruit pigmentation. After I painted the outside, it occurred to me that the colors would pop more if they were on black. So I painted the inside black. Not only a forgiving surface for painting, but great fun- something I haven’t felt about oils lately.

The perfect triad: We buy fresh food, farmers do what they love and make a living at it, and none of these characters have to go homeless again…….

ackee alien

eggplantdurante

Or would you still rather have a puppy?

pink ears in bed

20 Responses to “Place Your Money Here”

  1. ted davis Says:

    Beautiful donation box! Eggplant Durante and Akee Alien take the cake!

  2. ted davis Says:

    Cloud tops them all. A painting of her in the works, perhaps?

  3. Donald Diddams Says:

    I’ll have the puppy, please… AND the vegies! Great box. it’s already attracted a few dollars from me, so should be worth its weight in gold.

  4. Carol King Says:

    your fearless brushstrokes look fantastic. Love the donation box. And Cloud is always a crowd pleaser!

  5. JoAnn Sanborn Says:

    Great box, great veggies, great puppy! Oh, and acrylics rock!

  6. Noel Luria Says:

    While I am SLIGHTLY color blind, I think that youve captured the “essence” of the eggplant on your donation box.

  7. planetross Says:

    Cool donation box.
    Funny eggpantdurante.
    I had to look up “ackee” … I have learned something today.

  8. w1kkp Says:

    A new artistic industry in down times? Making that donation box visual art! I see an empire. Please oh please could you do something for the salvation army before the Christmas season?

  9. Paz Says:

    Awesome job decorating the donation box. I’d put money in it. 😉

    I’d love the veggies AND the puppy. 😉

    Paz

  10. Marian Fortunati Says:

    I always love your imaginative and interesting creations. Who would have thought a money box could be so fun?????

    And those photos!!!…. Not sure I’d actually EAT that first thing… What is it???
    Always love Cloud photos too…

    • Bonnie Luria Says:

      That vegetable is called ackee- popular throughout the Caribbean. When ripe, it has the consistency of scrambled eggs and if eaten unripe, is rather toxic.
      To me, it’s ” face ” says it all.

  11. Sharon Crute Says:

    Yes, it would be tough to walk away from the beckoning veggies. They’re all hanging out with enough colorful vibration to elicit smiles. Who could resist?

    Love the plug for puppy love.

  12. Joanne Says:

    I love the look of the donation box! You are so clever to paint the INSIDE black – I would have tried to go around and in between each piece of fruit and vegetable with the black, never thinking of doing the inside! But truthfully, I think the picture of Cloud would sell anything!!! She is gorgeous. 🙂

  13. Jala Pfaff Says:

    Awesome job on the box!! I’d certainly put my money in that.
    WHAT is that thing with the beady black “eyes”?!!
    Kisses to the Pigletta tummy.

  14. TerryC Says:

    It’s really nice to see you and Kelly there on the Saturdays that we can come and shop for goodies.

    Who says there’s nothing to do on an island?

    Great job on the box!

    I saw that eggplant there but didn’t have the heart to buy it – I’d have had to cut that schnoz off – just couldn’t bring myself to.

    Didn’t see the ackee, though, did it come later? (Probably wouldn’t have bought it anyway – we have plums and guavas ripening like mad on our trees).

    And Cloud. What can ya say? Too precious, that’s all….

  15. wrjones Says:

    I hurt my hand trying to push money through my screen. It does make you want to give.

  16. David Lobenberg Says:

    I’d put money in that box for sure, comrade! Good job.

  17. wrjones Says:

    Have you got enough money in that box yet to fly me over there?

    Where are you. Did you abscond with the loot? It is ok by me but I want to go too. Unless you went to New York. Carol lives there with that big dog.

Leave a Reply

