The “Casablanca” Mirror

You all know the scene: Hearts about to break, tears barely contained in the lower eyelids.

One of the best ending lines of a film- watch a brief 31 seconds.

I volunteered to contribute a  frame for a mirror as an auction fundraiser for The Womens’ Coalition of St. Croix.  It’s big- 4 feet by 3 feet and about 4 to 5 inches in width.

wcsc-auction-mirror

The two kids in the mirror are familiar to you, no? Minus the broken hearts and absence of tears. We kid ourselves about the kid part. There were other mirror shapes, some chests, a few doors, some headboards- about 35 in all.

A close-up which does a better job of conveying the method.

kid-mirror-macro

Three coats of tomato red orange paint, sanding in between, X-acto cuts of thick black construction paper glued on with Mod Podge ( see, the kid part was a lie, no one under 40 ever heard of it, I’m betting ). Three more coats of varnish.

The trial by fire was the getting the  lettering with 3/8 ” mirror tiles, measuring to fit the Jetsons style wavy edges.

This is what happens when I think of the concept and then have to adapt my ideas to the prowess of my abilities. But the idea was too good to pass up. What does a mirror do when you look in it? It looks back at you.

This is the same organization I did  Chairman Meow for, last year. They provide unending services and support for abused women and children, and after school havens for kids at risk. Theirs’ is a business of heartbreak and tears. This is their biggest annual fund raiser, and to my surprise, the Chairman brought in $2200.00 !!!!

I don’t know what the final bid on the mirror was- I couldn’t stay awake for the long nights’ event ( see, if I really WAS a kid, I could have ) but I donated the full 100% of the bid price. I think the days of giddy bidders may be over.  I’ll find out next week.

Tags: , , , , ,

24 Responses to “The “Casablanca” Mirror”

  1. Jala Pfaff Says:

    This is awesome!!! :)

  2. Donald Diddams Says:

    Very nice, Bonnie, including the two people looking back at me! Very artful exacto work. This must count for at least 2 paintings!

    And no, I’ve never heard of Mod Podge, but it looks like it did the job.

  3. Bonnie Luria Says:

    Jala- wow, thank you. It’s great fun to do tactile art without the brainbreaking thought that goes into painting.

    And Don- big bonus points to you for qualifying the effort as two paintings worth. You feel my pain (t).

    Mod Podge was big in the 70′s ( and still is, for decoupage ).
    I think the word decoupage took a train out of town with macrame`.

  4. Mary Schwalm Says:

    Looks great bonnie! Where will you work with the collection from the initial idea?

  5. Carol King Says:

    GREAT MIRROR! And I love seeing you and Kelly in it! And the tiles are terriffic! You are not only talented, but so damn clever! Overachiever!

    Not only to I remember Mod Podge….I STILL HAVE SOME!

    xoxox

  6. JoAnn Says:

    Bought some Mod Podge last week–it still works better than a lot of other stuff! The mirror is fabulous, a treasure! Some lucky buyer won’t look nearly as good in it as the two of you!

  7. ted davis Says:

    How fun! You’re right re: Jetsons, it’s the color and shape of Jane Jetson’s hair!

  8. Bonnie Luria Says:

    Carolllaaa! It was fun thinking of the theme. I had no ” islandy” images that moved me.
    I used to love collage and only recently rid myself of a cigar box dating back to the Mesozoic age. Why paint when you can paste!
    ( just joking….)

    JoAnn- The best part of the night is seeing how other artists interpret the same thing.
    Thanks for the sweet words.

    Ted- a pre- groovy geometric shape for sure.
    Was a tough one to be inspired by.

  9. Marian Fortunati Says:

    Bonnie… You have such an incredible sense of fun and imagination…
    I LOVED Chairman Meow and this one’s fabulous as well…. Hope the economy doesn’t deflate an incredibly good cause!!

  10. Sharon Crute Says:

    Which came first, the mirror or the frame?

    Love the flowing shape. What a ton of work obviously executed with caring creativity. Construction paper? Clever, girl.

  11. w1kkp Says:

    Now, this is just fun! But, fun that obviously took a lot of effort! Whimsy wins regardless of final bid. I agree: you are a clever, clever girl!!

  12. Bonnie Luria Says:

    Marian- this years’ event was much more subdued, less attended, and more unwilling to be urged by the auctioneer.
    It’s an indicator of the bigger picture. But still, every piece went.
    We have a uniquely responsive community here.
    Thanks for the sweet comments.

    Sharon- the frame was given to me- unpainted and devoid of glass. It would have been too heavy and awkward to maneuver while working with it. It evolved in my head after I got the mirror tiles down. I knew that the saying was going to drive the theme of the piece. I just had to figure out a decorative motif that didn’t require days and weeks of painting and wouldn’t be too heavy.
    Always glad to see your comments here.

    Pat- awwww. thank you. A high compliment coming from you. It’s a fine contrast to painting in that I really love the tactile aspect of crafting something with my hands and hand held tools.

  13. planetross Says:

    A very cool mirror. Well done!
    I think I could brush all of my teeth in that mirror!
    I’m a sucker for mirrors … I don’t like looking into them, but they add a bit of ambience … like the bathroom and hard to see turns in the road.

  14. solvay Says:

    Mod Podge, decoupage, macrame, Jetson’s – and your husband looks like Keithe Carradine. What a post! I’m sure it drew a large bid, and how gracious of you to put up such a cool offering for the excellent cause! Jetson’s – my favorite cartoon of all time!
    Mirrors – a glorious light-multiplying invention! I have them all over my teaching studio. I like this one you made!
    Solveg

  15. nathaliewithanh Says:

    Hey Bonnie! I hope you had a good trip!

    That mirror must have taken you a gazillion hours to make! You are a good woman… with a hottie husband. How tall is that thing?!

  16. wrjones Says:

    For Christ’s sake will you get back to painting!

  17. w1kkp Says:

    Don’t make me call the FBI, Missing Persons Bureau. I bet they have an office in St. Croix, In fact–everyone in the Boston office probably transferred there after this winter.

  18. Donald Diddams Says:

    You know, we all sort of wonder where Bonnie is…. she may have some explaining to do!

  19. nathaliewithanh Says:

    Where art thou?

  20. Bonnie Luria Says:

    Working backwards…..

    Nathalie- thou art with art. The Good Hope Art Show tonight.
    Big weekend ( remember a year ago where you were?)
    Lots of prep- 9 pieces on display.

    Don-sheesh, for pressure, I could be an E.D of a non-profit here, for pleasure, I could paint and blog about it.

    Pat- I’m not lost though. I know just where I am. Also had a week of best friends visiting. Even if I haven’t added a new entry or commented elsewhere, I still find time to read you every day.

    Bill- see all above, be less than accepting of any or all of the explanations and don’t sugarcoat your feelings. Just spit out how you feel…………..

    It’s really nice to be missed and I promise a new post will be coming very very soon. ( I’ve already photoshopped the image, now I have to invent some clever phrases. )

  21. w1kkp Says:

    You have nine pieces in this show?? Nine? Holy Crap. (That’s a liturgical term)

  22. Marian Fortunati Says:

    Have a ball, Bonnie…

    By the way… You never ventured a guess on the WHAT IS IT I posted… I know now that you had a VERY GOOD REASON!!
    So is this another Good Cause Show or are you going to make some personal cash out of it??

    EITHER WAY…. You’re wonderful!! ENJOY!

  23. wrjones Says:

    I’m waiting…..

  24. nathaliewithanh Says:

    Me too…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

